Skip to Main Content

Board of Directors

HorsePower's Board of Directors volunteer their time and array of talents to help support our ongoing mission.

Michael Schelling 2


Michael Schelling- President

Favorite Horse: Sarsparilla

Michael has served on the Board of Directors for eight years, and the Finance Committee for 6 of those. He is a Certified Public Accountant with Dakota CPA.



Teri Abel

Favorite Horse: Arrow

Teri Abel has served on the board for 5 years. She is associated with Dakota Digital.





Maurieva Lykken

Maurieva has served on the board for 8 years. She is a former Special Education teacher.

Michael Martin


Michael Martin

Favorite Horse: Robin

Michael has served on the Board of Directors for seven years. He works for NAI Sioux Falls as a Commercial Real Estate Broker.

Marisa Headshot


Marisa Draper

Favorite Horse: Diesel

Marisa has served on the board of directors for four years. She is the Finance and Human Resources Manager at The Carroll Institute.


Jason Schroeder

Favorite Horse: Diesel

Jason has served on the Finance Committee of HorsePower for seven years, and the Board of Directors for three years. He works as a loan officer for US Bank.

Nick Houge


Nick Houge

Favorite Horse: Doc

Nick has served on the board for 3 years.

Peggy Kapusta Sd1


Peggy Kapusta

Favorite Horse: Buttercup

Peggy joined the board in 2022. She is the Communications Director for SD EPSCoR, spurring statewide research, science education and economic development.


Check back soon!